Deleting files from the Active Server while replication is stopped

Follow

Summary
=======

This KB article describes the normal behavior of Neverfail Heartbeat when files are deleted from the protected file set on the Active Server while replication is stopped, or while Neverfail Heartbeat is shut down. In these situations, the protected file set on the Passive Server may contain files which are not present on the Active Server.


More Information
============

If files are deleted from the protected file set on the Active server while Neverfail Heartbeat is shutdown, or while replication is stopped, these files will NOT be deleted from the Passive Server when replication starts. These “extra” files will remain on the Passive Server, even if Neverfail Heartbeat is restarted in the same configuration as it was before the shutdown.

When a Switchover occurs, and the Passive server switches to the Active role, the “extra” files will be replicated from the Active server to the Passive Server, as those files are now part of the replication set on the Active server. Neverfail Heartbeat synchronizes the protected file set on the Passive server to match the protected file set on the Active server; it does NOT synchronize the protected file set on the Active server to match the protected file set on the Passive server. A file which is only present on the Active Server will be synchronized so that it appears on the Passive Server. A file which is only present on the Passive Server will be NOT synchronized so that it appears on the Active Server. This behavior is by design.


Recovery Methods
===============

There are two options to resolve this issue that can be applied when there are "extra" files on the Passive:

A. Manually delete, from the protected file set on the Passive Server, any files that are not also present in the protected file set on the Active Server.

B. If the folder containing the “extra” files is less than 10 GB in size, do the following:

- On the Neverfail Heartbeat Management Client, select the System > Status & Control tab and click ‘Stop Replication’

- Manually delete the entire folder from the Passive Server

- On the Neverfail Heartbeat Management Client, select the System > Status & Control tab and click ‘Start Replication’. A Full System Check will begin, and the folder and its contents will be synchronized from the Active Server to the Passive Server.

Please note: If the folder you want to delete contains a large number of small files and / or a very large number of folders, contact Neverfail Group for further assistance.

KBID-499

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.