How to Manually Synchronize and Verify Files and the Registry in Neverfail Heartbeat V5.2.2 and Earlier

Follow

Summary

This article provides information about the File Synch and Verify panel and how to manually synchronize and verify files, the registry, and related tasks.


More Information

About the File Sync and Verify tab of the Data Screen

From the Neverfail Heartbeat Management Client GUI, select the Data button and then the Files Synch and Verify tab.

On this screen, the global status of file synchronization and verification is displayed graphically in the 'Synchronization Status' pane, with the same seven different states as shown in the 'System' screen.
The screen presents a tree like structure on the left hand side showing the protected files and folders as defined by the file filters.

Each level of the tree can be expanded or collapsed by double-clicking the appropriate node.  If you select the 'Key' icon that appears on a folder, it will indicate if there are subfolders within that folder.  Protected files and their synchronization status, within folders, are displayed on the right hand side.

The synchronization status for each file may read three different values dependant on the state the system has reached with its verification and synchronization:

'In Synch' - the files have been verified as synchronized

'Out of Synch' - the file is not synchronized on the active and passive servers. This is common following a failover and manual synchronization and verification must be carried out

'Question Mark' graphic - the file or folder has not been checked because either a full system check has not been performed or the file or folder has not yet been reached by the full system check.

Procedure

How to Manually Synchronize and Verify Files and the Registry


When a file or folder has been detected as 'Out of Sync', a new pane is introduced to the GUI displaying the detected files. The folder structure to the left side of the Neverfail Management Client GUI changes replacing standard folder icons with red folder icons from the 'Out of Sync' file up the tree to the parent drive.

The 'Out of Sync' files can be manually synchronized by clicking the Synchronize All button, which rather than re-synchronizing the entire protected file structure, will just resynchronize the files listed in the right pane. Any files may be resynchronized at any time by selecting their entry in the file list and clicking the Synchronize button in the controls frame.

Where folders are selected, the 'Include Subdirectories' checkbox can be selected to ensure all files within the selected folder have been synchronized.

The process to verify and synchronize is identical except that you select the Verify and Synchronize button. Select the 'Include Sub-directories' checkbox to ensure all underlying files and subfolders are included in the verification and synchronization operation.

When a verification or synchronization operation is underway, the progress bar graphic will display the status.

Each manual or automatically scheduled synchronization and verification request is defined as a 'Task'. Other tasks are queued for processing until the current task is completed. Each task is listed in the task list to the right of the current task frame.

How to Cancel a Synchronization or Verification Task

Individual tasks can be cancelled if required. However, canceling tasks that have been automatically triggered may lead to the system becoming unchecked and a warning will show.

If the system is unchecked, recover by performing a 'Full System Check', which is triggered by selecting the Full System Check button. A Full System Check performs the same block level check of all the files, set by the file filters that the initial startup synchronization and verification performs.

How to Mark Files and Folders as Synchronized

On occasion, you may need to exclude a file or folder from automatic synchronization/verification. This may be because a file is too large to be synchronized over the Neverfail Channel due to bandwidth constraints or during a period of heavy communication overheads.

Exclude the file from the automatic synchronization and or verification by marking it as 'In Sync'. To do this, select the file from the list and select the Mark State as In Sync button.

Alternatively, the entire file set can be marked as 'In Sync' by selecting the Full Mark State as In Sync button. The 'Full Mark State as In Sync' feature marks all files as synchronized without performing the block level check of each constituent file in the file filters. This feature is helpful when the data structures are known to be identical between the servers. The file can then be manually synchronized later when network traffic and file replication is light.

Note: Marking files or folders as Synchronized using the "Mark State as in Sync" or "Full Mark State as in Sync" buttons does not mean that the Passive server data is a true replica of the Active server data. It is recommended that if files or folders (known to be out of sync) are marked as synchronized, a switchover is not performed until the data is verified and synchronized. Otherwise, data corruption may occur.

How to Review the Status of Registry Replication

The 'Registry Synch and Verify' tab of the Data screen in the Neverfail Heartbeat Management Client GUI allows the status of registry replication to be reviewed.

The status of registry replication is displayed in the 'Synchronization Status' pane and displays the same seven icons that the 'System' screen displays.

The Full Registry Check button allows all the registry keys matching the built-in registry filters to be re-scanned and synchronized between the servers.


Applies To

Neverfail Heartbeat V5.2.2 and Earlier


Related Information

None

KBID-833

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.