Using virtual machine snapshots

Follow

Using VM snapshots

VM snapshots are files that preserve the state and data stored on a VM at a specific moment. A snapshot includes the following information:

  • The VM's power state (powered on or powered off)
  • Data regarding virtual disks, memory and network components

VM snapshots are useful when you need to revert a VM to a previous state without reconfiguring it.

Creating a VM snapshot

Follow the steps below to create a VM snapshot.

  1. Log in to your Neverfail Workspaces account.
  2. Go to Virtual Machines.
  3. Click the VM that you want to create a snapshot of. You can use the filters to narrow down the results.
  4. Click Create Snapshot.
  5. Enter a snapshot Name and Description. Use a description that will help you identify the state of the VM in said snaphsot.
  6. Click Create.
  7. Once the snapshot is created, you'll see it in the Snapshots section.

snapshot_1.png

Restoring a VM snapshot

Restoring a VM snapshot reverts that specific VM to the state and data it contained at the moment when you created the snapshot.

Important: restoring a VM snapshot causes all the data added to the VM after you created the snapshot to be lost. Make sure to save any stored data before restoring a snapshot.

Follow the steps below to restore a VM snapshot.

  1. Log in to your Neverfail Workspaces account.
  2. Go to Virtual Machines.
  3. Click the VM that you want to restore to a previous snapshot. You can use the filters to narrow down the results.
  4. Identify the snapshot you want to restore in the Snapshots section.
  5. Click the Revert button in the Actions column.
  6. Click OK to revert the snapshot.

snapshot_restore.png

Deleting a VM snapshot

Follow the steps below to delete a VM snapshot.

  1. Log in to your Neverfail Workspaces account.
  2. Go to Virtual Machines.
  3. Click the VM that you want to delete the snapshot from. You can use the filters to narrow down the results.
  4. Identify the snapshot you want to delete in the Snapshots section.
  5. Click the Delete button in the Actions column.
  6. Click Delete to delete the snapshot.

snapshot_delete.png

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.